Punching above my weight

My wife is all kinds of awesome. Today she quickly made me forget about the crappy hospital food by serving me a Full Scottish Breakfast this morning, and Steak and Chips for tea. Both of which tasted fantastic. On top of that, she wont let me do anything around the flat. Does all the cooking, washing, cleaning etc.

And that isn’t all she does. When I’m in hospital she also comes to both visiting sessions in the afternoon and evening, despite me telling her many times she doesn’t have to. In order to come to the afternoon visiting she starts work an hour earlier at 7am, so she can finish at 3pm. In fact, when I am in hospital she has a very busy day with little time to herself. She’s at work for 7am, finishes at 3pm and comes straight to the hospital. She leaves again at the end of visiting at 5pm. Evening visiting starts at 6.30pm, so in that hour and half between visiting she goes home to get her tea and sometimes will go to the supermarket if I need anything and is back at the hospital at 6.30pm. Visiting finishes at 8pm so she gets home around 8.20pm and sorts the flat and cats out, (sometimes she still hasn’t had tea by this point so might do that too), gets anything sorted that I need such as fresh clothes and does any jobs she hasn’t had time to do during the day. She then gets an hour or so to relax before going to bed to do it all again next day. If that isn’t dedication I don’t know what is.

And of course she is there with me for every hospital and doctors appointment. I don’t how many times I have told her she doesn’t need to do half of what she does for me, but she won’t have it.

Really not sure what I did to deserve her and I’m punching well above my weight. It’s one area of my life where I am extremely lucky. I will never be able to repay what she has done for me over the past couple of years. I just hope that I don’t let her down now and can beat this damn Lymphoma. And here comes the sappy bit, but there is really only one way I can finish this post isn’t there… Love You.

Right, I need to go do some manly stuff now after that moment of weakness.

7 responses to “Punching above my weight

  • Lana

    Wow..you gotta stop posting these, I am emotional just reading it. She IS amazing.

  • Shirley

    Just love your blog,its better than watching Jeremy Kyle, thanks for making me laugh and cry all at the same time.
    Shirley

  • Al (Foo)

    Do my best with the blog, glad people enjoy it.

    Having cancer is an emotional roller coaster and try to get that across in the blog. It was about time I let folk know how amazing she is through all this. Dunno how she does it all and stays so strong and upbeat.

  • Fiona

    Shirley says it best, ‘though I’m not admitting to watching Jeremy Kyle!! You’re BOTH amazing. xx

  • Ruth

    That really brought a tear to my eye. Yeah she IS the best…..but believe me – you more than deserve it! x

  • Claire

    Aww, i’m getting weepy at this. That’s devotion for you! Susan is golden. You are too Allie x

  • Emma

    That is such a lovely post! I agree, she is the most wonderful person, and it gives us all great comfort to know that you have her to look after you 🙂 X

Leave a Reply

