Day 58 – When can I go home

In my last update I said I had written an entry, but I wasn’t sure whether I wanted to post it or not. Well turns out it didn’t matter. I thought I had saved a draft of it, but apparently not. I’ll probably write it again at some point, but after my third stem cell collection yesterday I was completely done in and didn’t have the energy to do it.

Fortunately, it would appear that enough stem cells were finally collected as last night the nurse noticed I was scored off for going down again today and did not receive injections last night to stimulate the stem cells, however not yet seen a doc to confirm this. It’s amazing what effect those injections were having on me as after just one night of not receiving them I feel a lot better today, and better than I have done for last five or six days. I’m still sore and pretty tired, but I can actually keep my eyes open for more than half an hour at a time, and no longer look like a cripple when I try and get out of bed or when walking around.

Getting the stem cells was the main reason I was being kept in hospital so hopefully I’ll be getting home very soon. Although I had a high temperature last night and this morning which may well put a spanner in the works. This is my fourth week in hospital since having my most recent chemo. As I may be starting my next cycle of chemo as soon as the 15ht Sept, I want to get home for as long as possible before then. I will be in proper isolation for the next treatment, possibly two to three weeks of being shut in a room with the door closed, and every day I’m in here is one less day at home before it starts. Fortunately visiting times are slightly more relaxed, so, you know, don’t hold back. I certainly wont be complaining. I will of course let you all know when it starts.

Just waiting for the docs to turn up on their rounds now and find out exactly what’s going on. I only have two questions today, did they get enough stem cells and when the hell can I get out of here.

News Flash! Temperature is down to 36.9. Will I get away home today…

Leave a Reply

